Having a Dance Career IS Hard, but it’s NOT Impossible. (Day 6)

amandadance2

Nothing is impossible. The word itself says “I’m Possible!”  -Audrey Hepburn

If you are going to make a career in dance, you better be prepared.  This line of work is not one you can half ass- you need to be willing to spend a LOT of time focused on dance.  I spend 40+ hours teaching lessons, 11+ hours of my own personal practice/class/rehearsal time, and 6+ hours in meetings about dance and teaching. That’s 57+ hours a week spent focused on dance, more or less.  The average American work week is around 35-45 hours per week.  A normal day for me consists of: waking up, eating breakfast, getting ready, going to the studio to practice and/or prepare for my lessons that day, teach lessons, have an hour break, teach more lessons, practice some more, come home and do dishes or clean, (these days) write this blog, go to bed.  But I will tell you this… I wouldn’t want to spend my 57+ hours any other way 🙂

Today I was chatting with a really good friend of mine who I have always loved and admired for her honesty. She was getting me up to speed with all the new changes in her life, and I was surprised when she told me she absolutely hates her new job.  She’s been working for a big insurance company, in the customer service department, for a few months now.  My friend is a creative soul, she loves drama and the arts, but she needed to take this job to pay the bills.

This got me thinking how lucky I am to be doing something that I honestly love every single day.  Sure, it requires a lot of time and devotion, but now is the time in my life to be putting in the work.  I’m 26 years old and I won’t be able to dance forever.  I believe that if you want to be great at something, you have to give it all you’ve got while you can. Ever since I found dance, I’ve always known that it would be a huge part of my life.  Luck is when opportunity meets preparedness…. and I plan on always being prepared and willing to take any opportunity life gives me.

So dancers- keep your chins up and your toes pointed! If you love what you’re doing, you will find happiness, no matter how many hours it takes 😉

Rhythmically yours,

amandaidance  o-)-<

Leave a Reply

